A List of Things I Dig at the Moment

Standard

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittehs . . .

I am sitting here tonight watching back to back broadcasts of the Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize for Humor (Carol Burnett, Tina Fey, Ellen DeGeneres) on PBS and eating too many Starburst jellybeans (not the green ones though).  I was sprucing up my blog a little – what do ya think??- and decided to make one of them lists of things I like at the moment.

1.   Crabtree and Evelyn’s Pomegranate, Argan & Grapeseed Ultra Moisturising Hand Therapy

ImageMy sister-in-law gave me a gift set for the holidays with shower gel, lotion, hand scrub, and this amazing super duper hand cream.  It’s real silky, but not greasy, and it smells delicious and fresh and not too perfumey.  I pretty much bathe in it right before bed.

2.   Bragg’s Organic Apple Cider Vinegar

ImageI have a good friend who is in school learning acupuncture and oriental medicine.  Any time I have a weird ailment I consult him.  I look at it as a way to challenge him educationally and keep him on his learnin’ toes.  Recently I was having some “digestive” issues. (We’ll just leave it at that, shall we?)  Anyways, he recommended drinking a teaspoon or two of Bragg’s in hot water in the morning when I first get up.  I have been doing it for a week and already notice a difference.  It actually tastes pretty good.  I add a little honey.  Supposed to be good for weight loss too apparently.

3.   Ginger

Image

If you scroll to the bottom of the link above, you can see why I REALLY like the ginger.

In addition to the vinegar tea, I am also making ginger tea and taking it to work.  I cut 3-4 slices of fresh ginger and pour boiling water over in my travel mug.  By the time I schlep my ass to the train, it is good and steeped and has cooled off a bit so I can drink it.  Settles the gut and warms the tummy.

4.  BOGS

Image

These are not my actual pair of Bogs, because I got mine like two years ago.  BUT this year in particular I am really appreciating my Bogs.  They absolutely keep my feet warm and dry.  I do have to wear an extra fluffy pair of socks over my regular socks because they don’t have half sizes and my Bogs are just a touch big. But it’s all good as the fluffy socks add to the warmth factor.  Otherhalf has a pair too.  His don’t have flowers though.  Often when we go running around in the snow and the slush and the muck, and some poor suckers are out in their sneakers or some other inferior footwear, Otherhalf and I cruise through puddles and say, “Thank you, Bogs!”  I love them, but at the same time I just don’t want to wear ’em anymore.

Image

thank you, Bogs!!

5.  Crabbie’s Original Alcoholic Ginger Beer

o-CRABBIES-facebook

Okay, so I just tried this yesterday at The Bad Apple, but I can tell it’s going to be my beverage of choice come summer.  It’s from Scotland, so hopefully it won’t be too hard to come by in these parts.  Pour this zippy carbonated libation over a glass of ice and add a slice of lemon or lime (it says to right on the bottle), and you’ve got yourself a refreshing, well balanced, delightful treat.

Well there you have it.  I realize that three out of these five things are beverages, and two of those beverages have ginger in them.  Huh.  That’s just how I roll, I guess.  What’re you in to these days?

Leave a Reply

