What I did on my Summer Vacation- Part 1

Link

It’s me again.  And I got some work to do.  Otherhalf and I just got back from a big ol’ family reunion in Montana.  And we drove there.  With my parents.  (yeah, that’s right.)  I knew I would put on a couple of pounds, what with the being stuck in a car for four days, and all the road food, and the food at the family gatherings, hotdogs, and cookies, and pie, and fried chicken, and potato salad!!  But when I got home on Monday night and “just for fun” hopped on the scale, I almost fell over.  In just over a week, I packed on FIFTEEN extra pounds.  Yep.  You read that correctly.  That’s like a bowling ball – and a half.

But first I feel that I should back up a bit to the actual start of my vacation, which was Friday afternoon when I left work.  I met up with my friend Shawnson for some FroYo in Andersonville.  We are making that our thing.  I could eat the plain tart one with fruit every. day.  It’s just so damn refreshing!!  So, I started out on the right track . . .

FroYo!!

I heart this guy! And I heart FroYo!

And then Saturday happened.  That morning I took my friend Marvelous for her birthday brunch at this really cool restaurant called Inspiration Kitchens.  It’s in Uptown, which is a bit of a shady neighborhood, but go anyways.  “The Kitchen,” as I will now call it, is part of a program that gives people who have struggled with homelessness and poverty the skills and experience to find jobs in the restaurant biz.  You get to help out some folks, and enjoy yourself a tasty meal prepared and served by students in the program.  And the prices are quite reasonable.  So we indulged in lemon-ricotta-french-toast and crawfish-biscuits-and-gravy.  And MIMOSAS!  (It’s BYOB)

image(1)

Happy Birthday, Marv!

And then because I wanted to stuff more food in my face we were still hungry, we ordered some sausage and hash browns.  This may be part of the problem.  Know when to say when.  Also mimosas.

20130629_115254

a little syrup on the sausage and some hot sauce in that ketchup, and you got yourself a party!

Then, after a pretty good buzz and full tummies, Marvelous and I decided to walk to the beach.  (Does it count as exercise if I walked fast on account that I had to pee?)

20130629_125103

the sand was particularly soft, like brown sugar . . . mmmm . . . brown sugar . . .

20130629_131622

20130629_125643

It was kinda grey that day

THEN, since Otherhalf was golfing for the entire day, and I had no plans for the rest of the afternoon, we met up with our friend SuperVic for dinner at this very delicious Indian restaurant called Tandoor Char House.  It’s also a BYOB.  We LOVE us some BYOB!  We ordered WAY too much food, and drank a bottle of wine.  The spread was amazing.  We started with samosas and pakora, (deep fried pockets of goodness and deep fried potatoes and onions, jalepenos, and paneer cheese).  Then we split a couple of entrees between us, I can’t even remember what.  I think it was the palak paneer which is kind of like creamed spinach, and a chicken (or was it lamb?) tikka masala- both of which came with rice and a huge salad, and of course we had to order the garlic and the plain naan.  It was a freaking MONSTER FEAST.  Oh, was I miserable when we finally waddled to the train.

20130629_183825

The next morning, Otherhalf and I went for a much needed jog, then had breakfast at Over Easy while the laundry was a washin’ at the mat.  We finished packing for MONTANA and then headed out to the burbs- where my p’s grilled steaks for dinner.  I kid you not, these were some big steaks.  But I didn’t snag any pictures of them, as this blog post turned out to be a bit of a 15 lb. surprise!  In fact, I didn’t even take any pictures of the food in Montana.  I could list most of the things I ate out there, but that’s not very exciting.  I did, however, take lots of pictures of scenery.

Stay tuned for our Montana shenanigans!!!  (and scenery!!)

Leave a Reply

