Just another manic Monday (Ohhh, ohh . . .)

Standard

Today ended up being a lot more productive than I thought it would be.  I slept in a bit, returned a Red Box movie, and rode the exercise bike for an hour (while watching Louis CK standup- kiiiinda hard to focus on pedaling while that guy is on.  I laughed my ass off, literally!  Ha!)  Vacuumed the hell out of my apartment and cleaned the bathroom.  THEN I got to work in the kitchen.  Made homemade hummus for my lunches this week.

Hummus = chickpeas, roasted garlic, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and a liiiitle bit of cayenne.

Hummus = chickpeas, roasted garlic, tahini, olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper, and a liiiitle bit of cayenne.

I made a coconut custard pie that I snagged off of a friend’s Facebook post.  (Thanks, MitzI!)  It turned out pretty good.   Maybe a bit eggy for my taste.  But I cut back on the milk a little since I was using skim.  Also because my pie plate always seems a bit shallow.  Don’t want any overflow, yo!  But the recipe is super easy.  It’s one of those “mix everything together and throw it in a pie pan” pies.  It’s supposed to magically separate into crust, custard, and coconut topping as it bakes.  Mine didn’t have much of a crust though.  Oh well.

image

They always look so promising right out of the oven.  Ingredients:  3/4 c sugar, 1/2 c bisquick, 4 eggs, 2 c milk (I used 1 -1/2 c),  1-1/4 c shredded coconut, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 T soft butter.  Mix, pour in buttered pie pan, bake @ 400 for 25-30 min.

You can see clearly the lack of crust.

You can see clearly the lack of crust.

When Otherhalf came home from work and we had a nice salad of mixed greens with pears, gorgonzola, walnuts and a nice vinaigrette dressing.  Oh yeah, and STEAK.  This is one of my favorite salads.  And I had been wanting it ever since Saturday when I was describing it to my sis-in-law.

mmm . . . steakums.

mmm . . . steakums.

After dinner, and while we were eating pie (see above), I also made kale chips.  This is a great way to deal with eat kale.  Did you know that kale is trendy?  It’s the new pomegranate or something.  Anyways, so yeah, I jumped on the kale bandwagon I guess. To make kale chips it’s really easy.  I have tried a couple of different recipes from the magical Internet, but the one I like best so far is from Jacque Pepin, and here’s how I rock it out:

Good for crispy cravings.  Good for salty cravings.  Good for kale cravings, cause aren't you ever like, "man, I really could go for some KALE right now?"

Good for crispy cravings. Good for salty cravings. Good for kale cravings, cause aren’t you always like, “Man, I really could go for some KALE right now?”

Step one.  Buy kale.  Pull the leaves off the ridiculously hard and stiff (thatswhatshesaid!) stem, and break said leaves into palmish-sized pieces.  Er, I have pretty small hands, so maybe that’s a bad size reference.  How about the size of a playing card?  Yes, that will work.  The chips will shrink quite a bit.  Ok, now wash and dry the leaves (I use a salad spinner, and blot with paper towel).  Put them in a big bowl, drizzle a tiny bit of olive oil. Like a teaspoon for the whole bowl.  Toss well, and even massage the oil into the leaves a little.  You will probably over oil the first time.  Don’t feel bad.  Everybody does it.  Then season.  I just use salt, but you can use whatever.  Probably cinnamon would be gross. Then you want to lay them out on a wire rack on top of a baking sheet.  Those insulated baking sheets probably won’t work as well as an old school jelly roll pan.  Bake those puppies at 200-250 degrees for 25 minutes.  Here’s what they look like before and after baking.  You can see how much they shrink.

imageNow, if you get a nice big bunch of kale, it can take several rounds in the oven, since you don’t wanna pile the leaves on top of each other. The air’s gotta circulate in order for them to reach ultimate crispness. The particular bunch I had today took me about four cookie sheets full.  But I only have the one pan like that.  Also, be warned that it is real easy to eat the whole batch of kale chips in one sitting.  Real easy.  How was your day?

4 thoughts on “Just another manic Monday (Ohhh, ohh . . .)

  1. rinny

    um that salad looks amaze balls but that coconut custard looks like a quiche o.O
    and my day was fabulous, thanks for asking! love those super productive Mondays 🙂
    made super easy delicious pot roast for dinner-i think it’s finally happened. i’m domesticated.
    *gasp*

      • rinny

        I use a 2-3 lb chuck roast generously salted and peppered. Sear on all sides in 2-3 TBSP olive oil on medium heat to seal in juices. Take two white onions cut in half with the ends cut off. Brown on both sides, about a minute. Wash 6 carrots and chop into two inch pieces. You can peel if you want to but I don’t. Toss in pan and brown, about a minute. Add everything to a crock pot set to low for at least 6 hours, but the longer the better. I like to cook at least 8 hours.
        Voila! One of Nick’s fav dishes! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

